29080927 – Parkway Meadows Senior Resident Caring Project

Prepared by Huey Shann Sue and Szu Ling Yeap

What: 居家关怀 Senior Residents Caring Project

Why: Help senior residents in Parkway Meadows to clean their apartments and also to interact more with them.

Where/When: Sept 27th, 2008 (Saturday) 9.30-11.30am
Parkway Meadows Apartments
2575 Sandalwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Short Description/Outcome:

Number of people attended: 13
Hui Ying Chin,  Sabrina/ I-Hsuan, Kah Loong Chong, Qi Pang, Mei Chen Chua, Huey Shann Sue, Szu Ling Yeap, Kai Liang Nyoi, Jesse Tsaur, Cun Yong Goh, Beth Chen, Edward Jan, Jackson Cheng, Andrew

This was our first time to start “居家关怀/Caring Project” at Parkway Meadows. We were helping Food Gatherers to pack and distribute food every month before we started this project, but we stopped taking part because they already found enough volunteers to help them with that.

We had the first meeting with Janet (程老师), 张妈妈 and 许老师 (three residents in Parkway Meadows). Janet (程老师) briefly told us the situations of the senior residents in Parkway Meadows. Then we were split into four groups to serve four families in the apartments whereas Szu Ling and Hui Ying had a meeting with Janet (程老师) and 许老师 about the English class which will start next week.

Some of us helped the senior residents to clean up their apartments, like vacuuming or washing the bathrooms, because some of them weren’t able to reach up or bend down. Some of us spent time to interact and chat with the seniors. Most of them seldom have visitors and they were so happy to see us that they even served snacks and drinks to us. We were happy to serve the four families and those grandpas and grandmas were happy to see us as well.


感想
by 俊勇

今天一大清早就去了老人公寓。此次是我在慈青第二次的活动。8点就得起床了啊。好想再多睡一会儿哦。但想起上次慈青的活动让我感触到感恩的重要,我就好期待。到了那儿,我们和老人公寓的代表(程老师,许老师与张妈妈)开了个小小的会议。程老师告诉我们这些老人们的年龄都高于60岁。 他们大多数都是受过教育的。只是年纪大了,他们不能继续工作,才住在这儿。除了与老人们谈天与帮他们清洗和打扫公寓外,我们还为他们准备了英文班。之后,我们就三人一组到老婆婆与老爷爷的公寓去。听说他们都很用心得学习!听到此,我想我是否应该检讨自己好玩与不认真的态度。开会后,我们就三人一组的开始我们的活动。在同一组的Beth,Ken和我帮了一位奶奶做些清洗工作。看到奶奶那么开心,我们都很欣慰。奶奶告诉我们她希望能有人每天陪她聊天。我觉得他们需要的是我们的关怀和陪伴。年纪大了若没人照顾真的好可怜。

我觉得也许这次时间紧促,我们并没有帮上什么忙。希望下一次 我们可以做得更好。


感想

by 凯量

这次是我第二次参加慈青的活动,感觉很好,也让我有不一样的体验。这所老人公寓跟我想象得很不一样。老人公寓附近的环境很好,很适合退休后的生活。公寓内也很安静,很悠闲,没有一点吵杂声。老人公寓的代表,Janet 老师、许伯伯和张妈妈,各个都好亲切,也博学多才。Janet老师告诉我们,在这里居住的老人,大部分是华人,都是退休人士,有工程师、教授等等。他们大多数都是因为子女们在美国而搬过来的,还有的是因为要替子女带小孩。有些行动不便的老人特别需要人帮助。经过了一轮分配,Edward、美珍和我前往我们被安排的公寓。我们被安排去的公寓,住着一对老夫妻。一见到我们,赵伯伯和赵奶奶就很热情的跟我们交流。赵伯伯和赵奶奶是广州人,在抗战时期搬到了台湾,也在那儿定居下来。他们有四个孩子,而且都在美国。这也是他们十年前搬到美国的原因。我在跟赵奶奶交谈时,能很明确的察觉到她离乡背井来到美国的辛苦。她跟我说她很想回台湾生活,可是因为子女们多在美国所以就没办法。赵奶奶和赵伯伯都非常客气,只让我们帮他们吸地板,因为赵奶奶手受过伤,不方便使用吸尘机。清理完后,赵奶奶还拿了许都食物,要我们带回去。临走前,赵伯伯和赵奶奶的一句:“你们都是我们的孙子”,深深地打动了我的心,让离乡背井的我感觉到家的温暖。这次的活动意义深重,我很期待下一期的探访。慈青,加油!

Leave a Reply

